Professional Advice Powerful Defense

divider

Archive


What You Need to Know About DUI in Georgia

/ 0 Comments

Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) can lead to serious consequences for the driver and anyone else in the vicinity. According to statistics from the Century Council, more than 30,000 arrests for DUI occurred throughout Georgia in 2011. There were also 277 alcohol-related roadway fatalities.

Simply having been arrested for DUI isn’t definitive proof that you are guilty. Many drivers are falsely accused of DUI every year, especially when the police depend solely on faulty Breathalyzer® tests as evidence. However, a DUI arrest can result in irreversible personal and professional damage. It is critical to hire an experienced defense lawyer to mount a strong defense as soon as possible after a DUI incident.

Blood alcohol concentration

In Georgia, a DUI is determined by testing the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Different BAC levels are allowable for different classes of drivers. Driving with a BAC of .02 percent or more is considered  DUI for a driver under the age of 21. For a commercial driver, the required BAC is only .04 percent. General drivers aged 21 or older can be charged with DUI with a BAC of .08 percent or higher.

Potential penalties

The penalties involved in a DUI case depend on various factors. For refusing to submit to testing under the implied consent law, a driver is subject to license suspension of one year or more, depending on the driver’s history of refusal. If you submit to testing and your BAC is above .08 percent, you will spend at least 24 hours in jail and pay a minimum fine of $300. A second offense results in at least 72 hours in jail and a minimum fine of $600. As a driver charged with DUI, you are also subject to varying lengths and degrees of license suspension.

If you or a loved one is charged with DUI, contact attorneys Michael S. Brown and Kim Stephens as soon as possible to receive comprehensive DUI defense services.

Read More
separator